Getting XP Home to remember network logon details

Guides and useful links
User avatar
Dr Who
Rising from the depths
Rising from the depths
Posts: 200
Joined: 22 May 2008

Getting XP Home to remember network logon details

Postby Dr Who » 20 Sep 2008, 16:27

I have just set up a NAS drive (attached to a router) and it appears on my network. To access it I need to supply a user name and password. On Pro it remembers it and on Home it doesn't. I remember a hack going round that enabled Pro features on a Home install (something like this http://mikedopp.com/hackxphome.html) but seems a bit drastic just to enable Home to remember a couple of passwords. Anyone have any other tips, work rounds, etc.
User avatar
Johnmcl7
Daemonhunter
Daemonhunter
Posts: 8025
Joined: 07 May 2008
Location: Inverness
Contact:

Re: Getting XP Home to remember network logon details

Postby Johnmcl7 » 29 Sep 2008, 02:27

This is one of the fundamental differences between Home and Pro which can't be easily bypassed as far as I'm aware.

Have you considered using net use? You could set this as a batch file to autostart, I find it's a bit more reliable than using map network drive with a different user account. I'm assuming it's shares you're connecting to? An example command to map the share to the Z drive would be:

net use Z: \\servername\share /user:servername\user password

John
We are outnumbered by enemy titans, recommend aggressive sustained counterfire
User avatar
Dr Who
Rising from the depths
Rising from the depths
Posts: 200
Joined: 22 May 2008

Re: Getting XP Home to remember network logon details

Postby Dr Who » 29 Sep 2008, 09:25

Cheers John, that batch file should do what I need.
User avatar
Soup4
Enjoying the cake
Enjoying the cake
Posts: 511
Joined: 10 May 2008
Location: London init!

Re: Getting XP Home to remember network logon details

Postby Soup4 » 29 Sep 2008, 12:56

Dr Who wrote:I have just set up a NAS drive (attached to a router) and it appears on my network.

Which one did you go for, Ras? I've been looking around for one myself. Been told to avoid the WD MyBook as it's slow and read that some of the Buffalo units are very tetchy in RAID0/1 configuration.

Decisions, decisions..

Soup
lukeireland
Rising from the depths
Rising from the depths
Posts: 189
Joined: 09 May 2008

Re: Getting XP Home to remember network logon details

Postby lukeireland » 29 Sep 2008, 18:20

Soup,

I have a LinkStation Mini. No issue with RAID and the remote access via the web works well. Very quiet too with no speed issues.

http://www.buffalotech.com/products/net ... tion-mini/
Luke Ireland
User avatar
Soup4
Enjoying the cake
Enjoying the cake
Posts: 511
Joined: 10 May 2008
Location: London init!

Re: Getting XP Home to remember network logon details

Postby Soup4 » 30 Sep 2008, 06:22

Cheers, Luke - I'll take a look!

EDIT: Ordered. Reviews are good and it's DNLA which I guess means it can stream to the PS3, not a requirement for me but definitely a bonus as is accessing the files from any web browser :)

Soup
User avatar
Dr Who
Rising from the depths
Rising from the depths
Posts: 200
Joined: 22 May 2008

Re: Getting XP Home to remember network logon details

Postby Dr Who » 01 Oct 2008, 10:02

Johnmcl7 wrote:This is one of the fundamental differences between Home and Pro which can't be easily bypassed as far as I'm aware.

Have you considered using net use? You could set this as a batch file to autostart, I find it's a bit more reliable than using map network drive with a different user account. I'm assuming it's shares you're connecting to? An example command to map the share to the Z drive would be:

net use Z: \\servername\share /user:servername\user password

John



John, would it be possible to use the same batch file to open an Explorer window? Instead of running at start up could I just double click an icon on the desktop to login and then open the directory in Explorer? I don't really play with batch files these days.
User avatar
Johnmcl7
Daemonhunter
Daemonhunter
Posts: 8025
Joined: 07 May 2008
Location: Inverness
Contact:

Re: Getting XP Home to remember network logon details

Postby Johnmcl7 » 01 Oct 2008, 18:03

No problem, add a second line to your batch file:

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" Z:

That's for Win2k/IE6, may need a slighe modification for your system.

John
We are outnumbered by enemy titans, recommend aggressive sustained counterfire

Return to “Useful Info”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest