DNS errors GRRRR!

Mobile phones, PDAs, desktops, peripherals or anything else which doesn't fit in the laptop category
Malice
Rising from the depths
Rising from the depths
Posts: 171
Joined: 06 July 2008
Location: South West, UK

DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby Malice » 07 Sep 2008, 02:07

Need your help guys. My internet is down 60-70% of the time due to DNS errors. I've done a DNS flush using cmd prompt, that didn't help. Resetting the router normally does the trick, but this isn't always possible during the day as other people will be online etc

Anyone have exp with such things?? It's REALLY starting to annoy me. Seems like I'm the only one in this house that has this issue. There must be something wrong my end??

PS - As I type this my housemate is getting jiggy in the hallway...joy
Empty space for rent $5!
User avatar
Johnmcl7
Daemonhunter
Daemonhunter
Posts: 8128
Joined: 07 May 2008
Location: Inverness
Contact:

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby Johnmcl7 » 07 Sep 2008, 02:48

Have you tried using a different DNS server than your ISP's?

John
We are outnumbered by enemy titans, recommend aggressive sustained counterfire
User avatar
Soup4
Enjoying the cake
Enjoying the cake
Posts: 511
Joined: 10 May 2008
Location: London init!

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby Soup4 » 07 Sep 2008, 09:34

It sounds like your computer and router are having DCHP issues; DNS server IP parsing is usually the first thing to go.

I'd suggest you manually configure the two DNS server entries for your network connection. Google "DNS server list" and you'll find hundreds of pages containing thousand of public DNS servers, alternatively you can simply manually configure the IP addresses for your ISP's DNS servers because it doesn't sound like your ISP's servers are at fault, just the routing of host names from your computer trough the router to the DNS servers.

Soup
Malice
Rising from the depths
Rising from the depths
Posts: 171
Joined: 06 July 2008
Location: South West, UK

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby Malice » 07 Sep 2008, 13:38

OK. I manually entered suggested DNS servers. Will let you know how I get on. Cheers for the help.
Empty space for rent $5!
Malice
Rising from the depths
Rising from the depths
Posts: 171
Joined: 06 July 2008
Location: South West, UK

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby Malice » 08 Sep 2008, 02:20

Meh! still happens. This time it effected my housemates too. Two of them come into the front room to reset the router. Maybe the router is on the way out? Might just pick up a cheap one and try that.
Empty space for rent $5!
User avatar
james
Novatech PR
Novatech PR
Posts: 308
Joined: 19 May 2008
Contact:

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby james » 08 Sep 2008, 08:51

No firmware updates avail?
Xeon 5050 | Intel S5000VSA | 2GB | 750GB 7200rpm | CM Stacker 830 | ATI X800 AIW | Hyundai W241D 24" | 70GB REV

Novatech m20 | Intel 800MHz | 1GB | 100GB | 3G | 12"

Novatech x80r | X9000 | 2GB | 8800M GTX | 200GB 7200rpm | WUXGA+ | DVDRW
UKIan
Master of the Salmon Slap
Master of the Salmon Slap
Posts: 1329
Joined: 09 May 2008

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby UKIan » 08 Sep 2008, 13:18

Malice wrote:Meh! still happens. This time it effected my housemates too. Two of them come into the front room to reset the router. Maybe the router is on the way out? Might just pick up a cheap one and try that.


Could be, I've had that before.
User avatar
BinnsY
Master of the Salmon Slap
Master of the Salmon Slap
Posts: 1874
Joined: 09 May 2008
Location: Nottingham, England
Contact:

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby BinnsY » 12 Sep 2008, 13:18

Can you manually change the DNS server adresses in the router settings? If so might be worth changing those to the openDNS servers and see if that helps.
| 3.2Ghz Quad|4GB Ram|GTX 470|2000GB|X-Fi Gamer |
| 2.2Ghz Dual|2GB Ram|8600m GT|160GB|Realtek HD |
Image
User avatar
EviL Ras
+1!!!!!!
+1!!!!!!
Posts: 8328
Joined: 08 May 2008
Location: London (formerly Manchester, la la la!)

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby EviL Ras » 12 Sep 2008, 21:25

The addresses of the OpenDNS servers are 208.67.222.222 for a primary DNS server and 208.67.220.220 for a secondary server.
LUHG
Ghost - MSI GS60 Ghost Pro. 15.6" 1920x1080 LED, i7 4710HQ 2.5 (3.5ghz turbo), 16gb DDR3 1600mhz RAM, 3GB Nvidia GTX870M, 2 x 128gb SSD, 1Tb 7200rpm HDD
Born 10/06/14
Image
User avatar
Replicant
Master of the Salmon Slap
Master of the Salmon Slap
Posts: 2926
Joined: 08 May 2008
Location: Planet Earth

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby Replicant » 28 Jun 2014, 12:07

Digging up this old thread.

Major problem with BT DNS servers this morning so was considering changing to opendns of someone else instead. Will have to so this within each machine as bthomehub setting cannot be altered.

Any recommendations or pitfalls to doing this?
Y.N.W.A.
Image
User avatar
jurassicjim
Master of the Salmon Slap
Master of the Salmon Slap
Posts: 2042
Joined: 12 May 2008
Location: Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby jurassicjim » 28 Jun 2014, 16:11

I saw bt broadband was down for a few people in the news. Is this another issue replicant?

I'm switching from sky to BT infinity 2 on the 10th, so I hope not...

j
User avatar
EviL Ras
+1!!!!!!
+1!!!!!!
Posts: 8328
Joined: 08 May 2008
Location: London (formerly Manchester, la la la!)

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby EviL Ras » 28 Jun 2014, 16:30

bt infinity 2 is EPIC!!! We get 76mps in central london on a good day (high 30's on a busy night). Its given us very little issues (other than the dual band wireless router, as the wifi printer has to be on the 2.4ghz, and my laptop loves the 5ghz range! so i split the ranges!).

We also got the BT home wifi extender 500. Uses powerline tech to connect a wireless hub in the front room to the main ADSL stuff in the bedroom. Works an absolute treat!
LUHG
Ghost - MSI GS60 Ghost Pro. 15.6" 1920x1080 LED, i7 4710HQ 2.5 (3.5ghz turbo), 16gb DDR3 1600mhz RAM, 3GB Nvidia GTX870M, 2 x 128gb SSD, 1Tb 7200rpm HDD
Born 10/06/14
Image
User avatar
Replicant
Master of the Salmon Slap
Master of the Salmon Slap
Posts: 2926
Joined: 08 May 2008
Location: Planet Earth

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby Replicant » 28 Jun 2014, 19:07

I have had Infinity 2 for over a year and it's great most of the time.
Today there was a DNS failure which affected them nationwide for about 3-4 hours.

I just changed my Surface RT's DNS to opendns and all was fine.
Y.N.W.A.
Image
User avatar
Johnmcl7
Daemonhunter
Daemonhunter
Posts: 8128
Joined: 07 May 2008
Location: Inverness
Contact:

Re: DNS errors GRRRR!

Postby Johnmcl7 » 28 Jun 2014, 20:42

Replicant wrote:Digging up this old thread.

Major problem with BT DNS servers this morning so was considering changing to opendns of someone else instead. Will have to so this within each machine as bthomehub setting cannot be altered.

Any recommendations or pitfalls to doing this?


The biggest annoyance is going to be the fact that you can't change it on the router, if you want to change again it means changing all the devices and on some it can be quite fiddly to get manual DNS settings in. Since the DNS should work whatever location you're at there's not the hassle of having to change each time you leave the house. The only other issue is if you're using any internal DNS resolution for devices based within the house (such as a media server) although I'm assuming in most cases you're just wanting to go straight out onto the internet?

John
We are outnumbered by enemy titans, recommend aggressive sustained counterfire

Return to “Other Technology”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests