Win7 reporting 2GB instead of 4

Discussion of all laptop related items
User avatar
PhilHibbs
Fish food
Fish food
Posts: 82
Joined: 14 May 2008

Win7 reporting 2GB instead of 4

Postby PhilHibbs » 23 Jan 2013, 17:11

Every time I reboot my laptop, Windows only discovers 2GB of RAM unless I hit F2 to bring up the BIOS screen and save and quit. Any ideas? Battery problem perhaps?
UKIan
Master of the Salmon Slap
Master of the Salmon Slap
Posts: 1329
Joined: 09 May 2008

Re: Win7 reporting 2GB instead of 4

Postby UKIan » 23 Jan 2013, 19:34

PhilHibbs wrote:Every time I reboot my laptop, Windows only discovers 2GB of RAM unless I hit F2 to bring up the BIOS screen and save and quit. Any ideas? Battery problem perhaps?


Could be the bios battery, it's independent of the actual laptop battery, so would do as you are saying. What's the model and make? They used to be easy to replace, but with things like ultra books I'm not so sure :/
User avatar
PhilHibbs
Fish food
Fish food
Posts: 82
Joined: 14 May 2008

Re: Win7 reporting 2GB instead of 4

Postby PhilHibbs » 06 Feb 2013, 13:24

I think that the problem is actually temperature related. If the machine is cold, it only detects half the RAM.
User avatar
PhilHibbs
Fish food
Fish food
Posts: 82
Joined: 14 May 2008

Re: Win7 reporting 2GB instead of 4

Postby PhilHibbs » 27 Jun 2013, 11:25

I took the RAM out and put it back in again, hasn't happened since.
User avatar
matt
Cake
Cake
Posts: 4162
Joined: 09 May 2008
Location: The shire, Oxfordshire

Re: Win7 reporting 2GB instead of 4

Postby matt » 27 Jun 2013, 11:32

ahh the old in and out trick followed by and off and on!

This pirate is an IT genius!

*coffee might have just kicked in*

Return to “Laptops”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests